Venting About Unhappy Customer

I had a customer (new) send me 5 quilts in October. I finished them in November, and contacted her. Because of "family emergency", losing job, etc... she asked to pay the bill, a little over 500.00 in payments. I said that was fine.

The last payment was on the 22nd of this month. I shipped the quilts. I got a nasty email today saying that she was unhappy with something on every one of the quilts. I have been quilting for customers for over 25 years, and have logged over 3000 quilts, and never dealt with person like this. She didn't like the weight of backing, she didn't like the amount of batting on the sides, she complained about the stitches, not much she didn't complain about. I offered to have her send them back to me, with backing she liked, or whatever she thought needed corrected, for the cost of the postage back, and I would redo it and ship back at my expense. She answered that she would be contacting a lawyer. Any one else have any pleasant experiences like this??

• Replies 53
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yikes! I'm not in business so really can't comment on how to handle her behavior. I don't believe that any lawyer is going to take her on so I wouldn't worry about that part. I just want to make sure that this woman and her threats don't spoil for you what should be a lovely time of year. I'm sure others here on the forum will weigh in soon with wise and comforting words to help you out. Sorry this happened, Nancy in Tucson

Wow I'm happy to say I've not had a customer like that. I can't imagine what a lawyer would do for her. Unless you were negligent or something I can't see that she can do much other than make your life miserable. I would let her do what she is going to do and make sure I line up some customers that would be willing to testify on my behalf. Do you have any correspondence in writing as to what she wanted?

I do have everything documented. And I did offer to requilt whatever she was not