Totally New User....Ultimate II 14ft metal table

Hello Everyone

I'm completely new to using a longarm machine; only used them a few times at shows for a few minutes.  I was able to purchase a used Ultimate II with a 14ft metal frame at a country auction earlier this week.  My husband and I have recently gotten it home and set everything up.  I need to replace the leaders which I have been reading about online as they are dirty and have many holes in them. 

The machine does work as I have turned it on and had it running.  My problem is with the bobbin.  I can't figure out how to get the needle to pull up the bobbin thread. 

Do I have to have a quilt loaded on the machine to even attempt this?  Is it something with the threading of the machine, threading of the bobbin (not sure that is correct) or how I inserted the bobbin into the machine?

I watched the video that came with the materials and watched how to load the bobbin into the case.  I was then able to hold it in the air and bounce it like a yo-yo as recommended.  It only allows thread to loosen out as it is falling back down.  However I noticed the bobbin itself does fall out of the case when doing this tension test.  I also noticed the entire bobbin case fell out of the machine as well.  Remember, I'm not sure what I'm doing.  I have tried to find videos online but not having much luck.

Also if someone could tell me what style of bobbins this machine uses, L or M, I would appreciate that too.  I just can't seem to find the correct anwser.

Thank you in advance for the help that is provided.  I have three children (two boys who enjoy making quilts as much as I - my daughter sits on my lap to sew, she is only 3), my two boys are as excited to quilt on this as I am.  Can't wait.

Thank you.
Bonnie

Hi Bonnie,