Ready to take the plunge

I have enjoyed quilting for fun (great at baby blankets) for 20 years.  Now I want to start an adventure in quilting larger quilts on a longarm machine. However, I am a little nervous about re-learning everything on a  new super sized machine.  I'm thinking about a millie:)  How difficult is it to learn the art of longarm quilting?  Any words of advice or what add ons are really helpful.

It really just takes practice.  It is different moving the machine instead of the fabric.  I did a lot of doodling on paper and that helped my muscle memory.  Put in some fabric just to practice on and just practice, practice, practice!!!!  (PPP)

and I didn't find it hard to make the transition after quilting on my domestic machine.  But did I say PPP!?!!

You'll love it!

I jumped in way over my head!  I had pieced for about a year when I purchased my longarm.  I started practicing on anything and drawing everywhere I went.  Lunch break, kids doctor appointments I mean everywhere.  I never quilted on my sewing machine so not much help there.  I love the longarm, I've had it for 4 years now and am slowly building a customer base. 

My advice is try as many different longarms as you can get your hands on and see what feels right to you.  The only thing I wish I had done differently is I wish I had more throat space, Lenni is 20" but Millie is 26".  I wish I'd gotton more.  Love to freehand quilt now.  Hope that helps at least a little.

Plus this forum is awesome.  People are so helpful and supportive

Like many things it is really easy to learn, but hard to master! The basics are...well basic, but when you see the finished work that the Ladies and Gentlemen of this group post you realize how much practice and skill are on display.

I am a beginner but inspired everyday by what I see here.

I would be remiss if I didn't add that you should not let the need to practice deter you...it's just plain fun!