Hobbs Heirloom Wool Batting - newbie

I'm not a newbie at quilting, but my first time quilting with wool.  I have a Farmer's Wife loaded up and ready to go, batting is just 'resting' as it just came off the truck.     Quilt backing is black.

I am quilting one layer of wool -  I'm worried about possible bearding with the black backing.   Any tips or advice on my journey?   Will the one layer of wool give enough definition/loft?  

Wool is my favorite batting! I use it exclusively for my own quilts and many of my customers like it also. Hobbs heirloom is nice, great loft and lighter weight than a cotton batt. I generally use the Tuscany wool from Hobbs, I just like that product a bit more than the heirloom wool. I have never had a boarding problem, even with a black quilt back. I have never used more than one layer of wool so I cannot answer that question for you, but know you will be pleased with the finished product! Super comfortable no matter which season you are using it.

Lori

Thanks for the advice...started it up this morning and so far so good.   I let the batting 'rest' for a day by just draping it over the frame before loading it all up.  Dos it's gorgeous stuff.   So far, quilting is going well, no bearding, etc.   I am pinning extra because of the puff, just to keep it stabilized throughout the area I'm working on.   Can't wait to do more tomorrow! 

thanks for you input :-)

I'm with the others wool is my favorite batting!  However, I'm a "Quilter's Dream" girl.  Sounds like you have everything under control.  I'm not sure what the other ladies and gents on here do with their batting but instead of laying it out to rest, I put it in the dryer for 20 minutes on refresh or if you don't have refresh, cool air.

I really don't understand the Hobbs wool.   I just used a package of it and it was so thin and had blobs of thick and thin, that I wouldn't use it alone.