Squaring quilts

Cyndi it really depends how exact you want to be.  Usually I find a seam I can measure off of all the way around.  I sure a square ruler for the corners and then switch to a longer ruler for the sides.  If  I want it 100% for certain square I will lay it out on the floor and use the laser level and draw my cutting line with a blue washout marker.  

I have been making quilts for many years but have never squared a quilt. I have never heard of doing this. If you use a 1/4 inch seam allowance shouldn't your quilt be square when you are done?

I am knew to longarm quilting though, so do I really need to square up each of my quilts to quilt them?

I feel like I need to add to this post.  If I'm just squaring a quilt that is for everyday use I would proceed as I outlined above.  If you start with square piecing you should be able to keep the quilt square while longarming.  I normally measure and make sure it is square as I roll into the next section to be quilted.  If however I am working on a special quilt that will go in a show then I will block my quilt before I square it up.  First I take it off the long arm and trim all the way around leaving at least 1" excess all the way around of batting and backing.  This gives me a good area to tug on and stretch to get it blocked.  I always pin to either the carpet or I use a foam board covered with a sheet.  I start in the middle and stretch it to the size that it should be.  Sometimes you really have to tug.  I find that one direction always "shrinks" more than the other side.  Once I do that I move about an inch away and do it all over again all the way around.  I keep doing this until I get to the corners.  I measure on the diagonal to make sure that measurement is the same in both directions.  I let the quilt dry completely then give the final trim.  I hope that answers all of your questions.