Signatures for quilt after quilting question

Hi Everyone,

I have been commissioned by a friend to create a signature quilt for a wedding.  I have done this before where the blocks are signed and then set in to the top and quilted.  My friend would like the entire quilt premade and quilted/bound so they may bring it to the shower and have guests write on it.  I have never done one in this order before.  Is there any reason it shouldn't be done this way?  I know that the pen will need to be heat set so wool batting won't be used LOL.  I figured that a cotton batting would provide a bit more substance to write on.  I'm still at a point where I can back out and not do it, so I wanted to get some opinions before I commit.  Is doing it this way an invitation to disaster?  Thanks so much for your help!  Melissa

You'll be fine.

Hints you may want to do:  use 2 layers of batting.

Leave written instructions safety pinned onto the quilt when its done explaing that ALL signature must be used with a

certain pen, and then heat set.  Maybe even provide a pen for her?!

Leave the signature blocks unquilted, but dont make them large.

You'll be fine!!!!

If it's an invitation to disaster, it'll be after you finish the quilt and wouldn't be your fault.

Let your friend know what can go wrong and assure her that something will go wrong.

Someone won't be happy with their signature. A child will be at the shower and of course want to sign it without supervision. Marks will get on the quilt in unintended places.

If she can provide 100% supervision/custody of the quilt by a helper who can hold the area flat while the person signs, go for it. A practice sandwich would be helpful so guests can see what it'll be like to sign on the fabric.

If the bride (and the friend) are happy with a memory quilt with bloopers (which may be charming!), go for it.