New to longarm Quilting

Starla

I have enjoyed reading everyones posts....lots of info.

I am new to longarm quilting...I have almost comlpeted setting up my machine...I go to my class that comes with machine on Saturday....I bought Millie.....Any sugestions would be greatly appreciated....

Thank you

Starla

Welcome Starla.

Have fun with your machine and relax. Put some muslin on the frame and 'play'. Try different things and learn the machine. I am learning lots from this forum too. As you see something...just jot it down on paper then go to the machine and see if you can mimic it. That's why I am doing. I am ready now to put my first 'real' quilt on the frame. RELAX and ENJOY. Congrats on the Millie. You will love it.

As they've said above PPP, breathe and have fun. Its not rocket science but it does take time to practice and learn your machine. One day you'll realize that you and the machine are moving together as one and wonder "When did that happen?"

Welcome and if you have a question just ask someone here is sure to know the answer.

Congratulations on your Millie!!! I received mine in July. DO NOT BE AFRAID - I was petrified that now that I had it, I would not be able to do it. Just put some practice fabric on there and get the feel of the machine. I started with yellow thread, then I went to purple and then black. Right over the top of each other. After all it is practice. try loops, stars, write your name, Don't let it intimidate you. I have my third 'real' quilt done and have learned lots. Just go for it and enjoy....

I was told after the PPP on loops, hearts, L's, E's, C's, writing your name, etc., to try easy pantos.:P Haa! Forced myself to the back of the machine after about 8 months and dozens customer quilts! I know I should have started at the back and worked forward, but the back scared (and bored) me so I stayed in my comfort zone on the front.