Is George a longarm or a domestic machine?

Mrs.A

I recognize that George is a bit of a hybrid...a sit down, push through machine with a longarm's capacity. My question relates to entry forms for quilt shows & such:

When they ask if the quilt was quilted on a DSM or a longarm, what is the correct answer? Thanks for weighing in, Nancy in Tucson

This is my understanding: push the fabric around - it's a DSM; push the machine around - it is a longarm. I know ther are lots of people who use their DSM on a frame and that does muddy the waters. I am no expert so others should chime in.

hmmmmm good question....my first thought was LA, but then hmmmm. I guess that would have to be answered by the quilt show experts.....do they still classify it a LA because of the size of the throad and the ease in which its used.

Dawn....do you know the answer? Or maybe someone from either MQX or MQS can answer this?

I'm pretty sure George is a longarm machine except you SIT rather than STAND.

I would say that a DSM (sewing machine) has feed dogs. George does not have feed dogs. He is exactly made like a longarm except he does not have wheels.

You could ask George's "mom" Claudia Clark Meyers (member name "snowquilter"). She is the person who got George started and She's the longarm queen and has racked up many awards on her George.

But.......most people who machine quilt on their domestic machine drop their feed dogs.

I would call it the longest arm or longest neck domestic sit down machine on the market.

If someone says they have a short arm, mid-arm or longarm, I automatically think of a machine on wheels.

I guess you could see this many different ways.