ok i have a weird question

i've been LAing now for 5 years, and i think i'm getting close to 'burnout'. is this normal, like the 7 yr itch, or i'm i just 'bored'.

chocolate isn't working, and i've tried to boost my creativity by looking through all the LA books i have, re-watching some of my DVDs, and even putting on a practice piece to 'play, but i'm just not in the mood to long arm and just the thought of LAing is not drawing the ususal excitment it use to.

i'm i just going thru something similar to writer's block? will it pass....

Shannon,

I think everyone goes through burnout with their jobs. Dealing with people and their quirks sometimes just makes one want to bury their heads in the sand. I don't long arm quilt for others as a job, I do it for a hobby, but do have a day job that can be trying. People are more demanding of others than they are of themselves. And I truely believe artists are always trying to one up ourselves. We think we have to out do the last quilt or whatever. Maybe you just need to take a few days off and enjoy the great outdoors, if that is what you like. Sometimes just stepping away and doing something completely different refreshes our creativity. I get a lot of ideas from taking walks and just listening to the voices in my head.

Take time for yourself. Don't forget to enjoy life. Judy

Shannon, do something else for awhile that you love. Piece, if that's what you like to do, or do something totally non-quilty for awhile. I think everyone needs a break every once in awhile. Take the time to read some good books, go for hikes, biking, just anything to give yourself a break.

You'll either find that the passion for quilting comes back or it doesn't. If it does, you're good to go. If not, sell your LA and use the money to hop on a plane, come out here and teach me. We'll go out for pony rides in between lessons so you don't get bored!!:D

Judy you're brave...admitting to voices in your head:P:P;):):D