Learning progression

I'm a newbie. I have been practicing on meandering & I feel comfortable doing this. My circles & diagonals are a bit "jerky" looking. But I'm sure with practice I'll get better with them also. What I would like to know is--what would be a typical progression of things to learn from the front of the machine? (I'm not wanting to do pantos yet)

I was never able to take classes but what worked for me was to spend a lot of time looking at quilts on webshots. You can go to http://www.webshots.com and find a longarmer you like and look at her quilts, look at the quilts of the members she has marked as favorites. Load muslin and go to town! Practice what you want to learn to do. If you're anything like me, you will be very surprised at how awful your first attempts look but with just a little practice, you'll be thrilled with your results.

The other day at longarmchat.com, someone posted a whole string of photos of feathers she had been practicing. The first ones were pretty sad but by the end of the day (I think she did all the practicing in one day), her feathers looked like award winning quilting. It was really hard to believe.

I found that practicing one technique til I got it down was best for me. Instead of trying bunches of things, I'd practice one thing and when I felt that was decent, I'd go on to something else.

Good luck!

I have taken Myrnas' suggestion of designing on paper. I bought a cheap kids sketch pad from walmart and work on one design till I have it down pat, its stuck in my head and makes it a whole lot easier when I practice on the machine. This is something I do at night when we are chilling out for an hour or so watching a favorite TV show. Good Luck!

Char

Hi Q-B,

I agree with all this advice. Practice, practice, and well, you

know, practice.

Until you can get into a class, you can doodle. You are training

your brain whenyou create designs on paper or etch-a-sketch

or whatever.