making money

Hi there! I have been running a quilting business now for 9 months part-time (I have two toddlers! BOYS!!!) and have done about 50 plus quilts and only made about $2200. Is this normal? I have plenty of work, but not sure that I can upgrade machines if I can't make more than this. I was in hopes of doing this full-time when the boys got into school, but I am not seeing myself making more than $6-8,000/yr. Is this normal, or what? Will a better machine help?

Thanks!

Hi

I sent you an email that may help you a out a bit. I have a few key questions that I would ask you to better answer your question. If you would like give me a call and I will be happy to chat with you. A couple of things that I would ask.

1. How much time are you are able to spend working?

2. What are your rates.

3. What type of machine do you have? Is it a longarm? Is it stitch regulated?

Doing 50 quilts in 9 months is about 5.5 quilts a month and 50 quilt into $2200.00 is 44.00 per quilt. Depending on the size of the quilt and the quilting, that seem very low to me.

Review the return on your investment that I sent you and give me a call if you like.

Myrna

Guest Linda S

I hope the majority of your quilts have been very small wall hangings. If not, you are definitely not charging enough.

Linda

Hi, if you are only doing small quilts, you need to have a minimum charge. I do not quilt for others, but if I did my minimum charge would be at least $50 dollars. You need to take into consideration the time it takes to load the quilt, quilt it, talk the customer, etc. Time is money. Are you charging for your thread? Are you charging for batting?

I highly recommend going to Cindy Roth's site (I think it is www.longarmuniversity.com) and check out her booklet. She talks about what you need to charge and lots of other good things. (Cindy is the person who also puts on Innovations which will be held in the Tacoma, WA area in September.)