Newbie Question about computerized long arm quilting

Good Afternoon Ladies and Gentlemen! Just reading all your posts makes me so excited to get started! I've been quilting for 25 years or more, but I have never done anything more to my tops than stitch in the ditch or yarn tie. I am thinking very seriously about making the plunge into the world of long arm quilting and possibly make it a business. I am hopeful that, between my Real Estate business and my transcription business, maybe a long arm quilting business, maybe I can make one full time income. Times are so hard for us all just now. Do any of you use a computerized long arm quilting machine? I had a lady tell me you can do a kind size quilt in an hour and a half. That true? How much can you make per year doing long arm quilting with or without a computer? Thanks all and God Bless!

I would say that if you are thinking about a longarm business, that you might want to learn the basics first, then add a computer later if you want.

By then you'll know if you like it, if you want to operate a full time business and you'll also have a better understanding of your machine.

And you'll know approximately how much you can make to know if you can justify the cost of a computerized system.

In my humble opinion, that is.

P.S. I don't have a computerized system. I enjoy the free motion, hand guided, so far.

Welcome to the forum! There is an area on the APQS main page about starting a business, - there is alot of good information there.

There are a number of options for a computer program for a LA - research all well, as prices vary. I don't have a computerized system, but others do, and maybe they will chime in. There are other non-computerized systems that can help you get your patterns made as well that you may want to look at.

Good luck!

Joanne Flamand

Artistic Quilt Designs