So is there a thread for dumb questions?

I have been quilting for 8 years on an Ultimate 2. Last month I sold it and bought a brand new Lenni.

I can't believe how different they are.

I also can't believe how loud the SR is, or it is probably just me doing something wrong.

When in manual mode, I feel like I have drag or maybe it is just different from my Ultimate 2, although it isn't blissed it is the standard carriage.

Can someone tell me why I can quilt faster in manual mode?

I have lots more dumb questions......but I will give you all a break. I take a class tomorrow maybe I will be brave enough to ask some of the questions there.:o

I can attest to the fact that there are NO QUESTIONS too dumb to ask on this forum - believe me, I have asked a lot of them. Everyone is very helpful, and there are so many experienced longarmers that read this forum daily, whatever question you ask will surely be answered quickly and well by at least one respondent.

Regarding going from a non-SR machine to a SR machine - I had an Ultimate 1 which I recently traded in for a Millie. The SR is kind of noisy, but I surely do like it. I never got very comfortable with the Ultimate, so I can't say whether I would have been able to quilt faster in manual mode. But I will say that at first I kept thinking I had to take off like a shot as soon as I hit the blue button - and it kind of confused me at first that my Millie just kind of sat there and growled at me until I began stitching. But it didn't take long - woo hoo! I love my new machine, and I'll bet you will love yours also.

Deb you should be able to quilt as fast as you have the motor speed set in manual. Did you turn the knob on the side of the machine to increase the motor speed? It is the same knob you turn to set your SPI in regulated mode. When not using the regulator, it adjusts motor speed.

Guest Linda S