Table length?

I'm a quilting newbie as well as a posting newbie. About 3 years ago I bought a embroidery machine and a sewing machine and started crafting gifts for baby showers. I wanted to step up the blankets so after a few youtube videos and a book or two and I made my first quilt. I have a Janome 1600 that I stitch regulated and put on a grace frame (8.5'). I do my best work with pantos...as long as they are smaller than 6". I'm really wanting to move up to a longarm but it seems all of the used machines are either 12' or 14' tables. I just don't have the space; my studio will be tight with a 10'. I'm wondering if anyone uses a 10' and the largest quilt that they've done.

If you buy used through APQS or your local dealer the tables can be ordered 10,12, or 14 foot. If you buy from a private sale you can find someone who can cut the table down, but I would have to really trust that person. As its not just a simple cut. If you need help just let any of the dealers know and they will help you.

Thanks. I have seen different dimensions for kings and wasn't sure what the standard (if any) size was. I understand some are toppers and others overhang. I also wasn't sure how much of the table was quiltable side to side. I would love to have a 12 foot table but I don't want to have to cut a hole in between two bedrooms; and I'm almost certain that the wife wouldn't let me.

Originally posted by jandcembroidery

Thanks. I have seen different dimensions for kings and wasn't sure what the standard (if any) size was. I understand some are toppers and others overhang. I also wasn't sure how much of the table was quiltable side to side. I would love to have a 12 foot table but I don't want to have to cut a hole in between two bedrooms; and I'm almost certain that the wife wouldn't let me.

Just do it one day while she's gone. Once she gets use to the idea bet ya get to keep it.

Originally posted by jandcembroidery