Couple of questions

Hi,

I am considering buying a LA in the next couple of months. I have been devouring everything I can find to read and I will be attending a quilt show in Va next month to test drive a few models. Can anyone give me a guesstimate on how much money I should reserve to buy the necessary items to go along with the LA. I am also a little nervous because I'm not sure that I will ever be creative enough to come up with designs like I have seen on here. I have been quilting for five years and use my sewing machine to quilt but nothing elaborate. I always get stumped when it comes time to quilt my top. Eventually I would like to quilt for extra money but I plan on taking lots of time to practice.

Mary

Hi Mary, You can start out with the basics. With a purchase of an APQS machine you get everything you need to start quilting except batting and fabric. We also have a great special this month, The Hartley Fence Package. So you could start out with a lot of things.

It will be easier that moving your quilt and you will find the transition fairly easy to moving the machine.

I know it does make you a bit nervous, but just do it. Just relax and let your creativity come out. Practicing on paper is a great way to get started now.

We do have some great deals on used machines still available if you would like are interested. They do have a one year warranty and are stitch regulated.

If I can answer any questions for you give me a call.

I would plan on between $300-500 to spend on a TOWA bobbin gauge, thread, needles, canned air or air compressor, practice muslin and batting, a few beginner pantographs, an extended base and a few basic rulers, some educational books, DVD's and classes if you can get to some. Don't go overboard in the beginning buying everything in sight. If you buy the basics and start slowly, you will learn what appeals to you and where your talents lie and grow from there.

Hi Mary