Newbie - help with tension please

Hi fellow la quilters! I am new to my Millenium, and am having some issues with tension. I am using So Fine in the bobbin and King Tut as my top thread. What is happening is the top looks great, but the bottom has small loops of my top thread with the bobbin thread laying flat. I tried adjusting my thread tension both ways, but it is still happening, and when I tighten it too much the top thread breaks ... too loose and the top thread looks awful. Can you offer some suggestions? I don't want to screw around and totally mess up my machine. Thanks for your help. I am free-handing circles in circles with meandering. Thanks in advance for your help!

Sheryl

Sheryl, if you are seeing top thread on the back, you have two ways of balancing those threads. The first, which you've already tried, is to tighten the top thread - but obviously, that's not working in this case, 'cause the King Tut's breaking on you. The other way is to loosen your bobbin thread - it is winning the "tug of war" between the threads and is pulling the top down out of the quilt sandwich. Don't be afraid to adjust that teeny tiny little screw on your bobbin case, but it's small adjustments there. Try loosening your bobbin thread and let us know if it does the job! And King Tut is a pretty ambitious choice for a newbie - good luck!!

Bear in mind this advice is coming from someone who NEVER uses King Tut for the very reason you describe....but try not winding the Tut through all three holes on the thread guide above the tension discs. Weave it throught the holes instead..down through one, up through the next, down through the last one. (You might try up-down-up...I haven't found that it makes a difference on my machine, but you might have a different experience.) You will still have to play with your tension, both top and bottom. I use this with thicker poly threads or more delicate threads like Rainbows and it helps a lot.