Thread wrapped around needle?

Hello all!

I've been having odd issues with thread breaking over my last 2-3 quilts. I had to get those done in a hurry, so I just gritted my teeth, rethreaded, and went on with things. Today I had a bit of time to spare and wanted to put a quilt up on the frame, and I pinpointed what's going on:

At some point, usually after about 8" of sewing, without break or rethread, I get 2 or 3 long stitches the thread is shredding and then wrapping itself *around* the needle, like the stripes on a candycane. And it only happens when moving from right to left (stitching from front). Left to right is fine.

I have a hunch I'm going to be told to re-time my machine, but I've never done it before and am, frankly, nervous about it, so I want to see if there's anything less invasive I can try.

I've only had one needle break. This was the very first time I turned the machine on, 2 years ago, which was bad enough to bend the bobbin case (since replaced), but have never had it re-timed since - replacing the bobbin case resolved all stitch issues. I also had a trans-continental move by truck, but the machine behaved fine for several months after that. This issue is new over the past 6 months)

The Specs:

2011 Millenium with M&M Wheels, 12' table

Stitch regulator on

No burs anywhere I or my nylons can find

Perfect tension, if I do say so myself.

Issue occurs with: 

- Any stitch length

- Both light and dark coloured thread (I first noticed it with only dark coloured thread)

- Both new and old thread (Thought it might just be old or bad thread, tested with multiples.)

- Both Pantographs (which I tend to sew at a higher speed) and slower speed, like basting

- Omni Thread top and bottom

- Sew Fine thread top, Omni Bottom

- King Tut thread top, Omni bottom.

- Sew Fine thread top & bottom

- Ceiling fan on or off (I thought it might be blowing the thread too much)

Any suggestions beyond re-timing?