upper thread breaking

I am new at quilting, My upper thread breaks about every 3 to 6 inches. I have just had my machine worked on still it keeps breaking I have change the needle several times. loosened the upper tension, checked the bobbin, loosened the quilt on the frame still no luck. Does anyone have any suggestions??? PLEASE HELP...:(

Is the thread a new spool? Usually when I had top thread issues (which I never do now that I have my Millennium!) the spool of thread was just "bad". Try a different thread and see if you have better luck. I am not an expert and there are others here that have far more experience but that is what I would suggest.......

It's hard to say with the info you provided. Which thread are you using top and bobbin?

Try these things:

Check your thread path. Did you just start using this thread or was it working then started breaking.

Loosen the bobbin tension.

Loosen top tension til thread stops breaking. It will probably be sloppy loose so bit by bit tighten top tension until thread looks good and still does not break.

Make sure that the rollers are not too tight. That is my favorite mistake. To me, the quilt looks sloppy when it is loose enough to quilt.

Are you stitching across the seam of a pieced backing. (ie like thread keeps breaking on a single bock in the center of the quilt.)

Also, you said that you are new to quilting...I know when I was new I was breaking thread all the time....it drove my DH so crazy he would leave the room and say that he didn't know how I could stand it!! I think as you get more accustom to your machine you will do better. Just one of those things that may take a little time.

There is more chance of thread breakage with a variegated thread. Something about different colored dye affecting the thread and one color will be more prone to breakage.