Selecting Quilting Designs

As a newbie I am trying to learn as much as possible. Where can I find information on how to know where to put different designs on your quilt?

Example: which designs work well in squares,circles, etc......

Is this something you can read in a book? Or are there certain

design principles to follow? Any help given or advice is truly

appreciated!! Thanks!!

You'll get lots of advice for books, You tube tutorials, DVDs and instructors. Before you invest money in these products, look at quilter's blogs, Flickr accounts, and galleries on websites to find a style that appeals to you.

If you're looking for basics, my favorite instructors are--

Deloa Jones (her Sampler book is invaluable)

Darlene Epp (her trilogy of design books is a longarmer's "bible")

Myrna Ficken

Kim Brunner

Pam Clarke (beginners will be inspired by her easy first steps)

Diana Phillips

Angela Walters for modern

As for what and where to place designs, it depends on the density of stitching and the intended use and recipient. You'd stitch a different design on the same quilt if it was for a teenage boy or a new bride.

Rules--there are none, but curves on straight and/or geometric designs are appealing.

Straight lines are nice on Modern quilts. Circles inside squares are nice. Echoes give added weight and emphasize stitching or fabric designs.

An overall design can include motifs used in the fabric--floral fabric is nice with leaves in the stitching, paisley fabric can have a some more ornate curls and scrolls, panels with wildlife are nice with water designs, samplers can be as detailed as you or your customer want. Samplers are fun, with the same type of stitching in each block, but each block is a little different. That gives you a lot of practice.

The same principles that apply to other art are used in deciding quilting designs--symmetry, balance, texture, light and shadow, intensity of color/tone, etc. 

Have a great time on your journey---it's a great ride!