Silk Thread

Have any of you used silk thread? I have a quilt I think I might want to use silk thread for the stippling but I'd like to hear from someone who's used it before I try it. I will need to order several spools and it isn't cheap so . . any thoughts?

Thanks!

I have no experience quilting with silk threads but I do have a question for you. What is it about the quilt that makes you want to use silk thread? I have no imagination when it comes to picking out thread for a quilt and would like to get some insight as to why you might use different threads for different quilts. (If that makes any sense.) Thanks.

Please don't ask me why I do things because I never know why! Ricky Tims does a lot of quilting with silk thread and I have this idea for quilting my fractured lone star. I want to enter it in shows and I'm thinking I'd like to try silk -- no particular reason.

I think regular cotton, even 50 weight, will be too thick for the microstippling. I want more weight than the Bottom Line though.

The background is a mossy green and part of the star is purple. I want to use purple/lavender thread for the stipple on the green. Here's the top:

post--13461897607217_thumb.jpg

Judy,

I have used Silk Thread on one quilt and it wasn't as easy as one would think. I have the ULT II which doesn't have a thread regulator on it so I don't have the ability to slow down my motor speed and keep my stitches exact, one of the things I would like to upgrade someday.