Timing Your Work

I don't but I should! Need to fill out a type of time sheet so I have a better

grasp on how long somethings really take me. Hard to do though when

life interrupts you all of the time. I am at home, so that means laundry and

my girls from time to time...... plus the phone and other people stopping by.

The last quilt I did McTavishing all over the background and I like it, but a

person just needs to look away and walk away after a bit! I guess I maybe

don't want to fill out an actual time slip and find out I am getting paid less

than $5.00 an hour...... maybe I know I should..... and charge more too!

I look forward to others answers and if anyone has a time sheet or form

they would like to share with us - that would be great!!!

I've been timing myself now for about 9 months. I print out an estimate from my software and write down the time every time I start quilting, then write it down again when I'm finished or interrupted by laundry, visitors, etc. It has been really eye opening and as a result, some of my prices have been raised.

Last week I was in a pricing class with Cindy Roth and we talked quite a bit about timing. One good suggestion was to get a digital clock that flashed 12:00 whenever it is turned off and back on. Plug it into a power strip with the on/off switch. Just flip the switch when you start quilting and it will work like a stop watch. So, if the clock say 3:25 when you stop quilting, you have quilted for 3 hours and 25 minutes. It's a great suggestion that I plan to use.

Debbi

When I got my longarm a little over a year ago I started with a new spiral bound notebook. I have a page for each quilt that goes on the machine. I keep all my data on that page. I have a little clock with seconds on it. I record each time I stop and start. If the phone rings I record the time and begin again when I come back.

I also record things like size of the top.

How long it takes to prep the quit.

How long it takes to load