Myrna - Changing bobbin thread colour to suit quilt.

Hi Myrna,

I've just been looking at one of your albums on Webshots and noticed a quilt called "Christmas Ivy by Cokie Colton". Absolutely love this quilt (thanks for all the great photos and close ups). I notice that instead of using a neutral bobbin thread throughout on the back, you change the bobbin thread to suit the top. Is that because a cream bobbin thread would show a few "pokies" on the red pieced top? I'm new to this (haven't got my machine yet), so would you change the bobbin colour as you go, or do you do the whole quilt with one colour bobbin and then change to another colour to finish?

By the way, I think your studio is fantastic. When my husband gets his new factory unit, I'll be able to take over the office at home here, and turn it into a studio. Size looks similar (from what I can tell) to what you have there - but your set-up is awesome. What a lovely place to quilt. Hope you don't mind, but I'm gonna steal some of your ideas for my set-up - especially that large table with all the drawers and the huge workspace. I'm hoping to kick my DH out in about 2 months - then I'll get my machine - probably a Milli. Can't wait.

Thanks again.

Hi Kathy,

Thank you. I usually do use the same color on top and in the bobbin. If the tension isn't perfect I would rather not seen any "pokies" on the back. I would like all my customers not to use a solid or a fabric that reads solid on the backing ( in my perfect workd) ;) I do change thread colors a lot in my quilting and again I try to match. I don't really have a set in stone way of working a quilt. I always pin baste very heavily as I am working back and forth. I can end up changing colors back and forth a lot. Which is on reason I love the entra cone holder on top. When you get your machine I recommend taking as much training as you can, practice on paper it is very important. Don't be afraid to try things, Just do it and have fun.