Stitching in the Ditch - Necessary? - How do you do it?

Hello!

Complete newbie here, although I've owned my Lenni for a year now.  I've just had the BEST week ever, finally loading on 2 charity quilts, and then 2 of the 3 baby quilts I had waiting.  I used 2 different pantographs to stitch them and I'm quite happy with the results.  The 3rd baby quilt is for my own dear granddaughter, so I'd like to make the effort to have it look as nice as possible, but still only using a pantograph.  The quilt is a large panel in the center with 4 borders around it of various sizes.  The 3rd border is made up of 4" finished blocks.  I've read that SID helps to make the quilting look more professional and even, regardless of whether is is pantograph or custom quilted.  Do you agree?  I did find that the borders on my 'test' quilts sort of looked a bit full or bunched up as I quilted.  I floated the batting and top, basting as I advanced the quilt using marked edges to try and keep the width the same.

If I do want to SID, do I do that for the entire quilt, top to bottom and then start over at the top again for the pantograph, or SID, baste, then quilt one section, then advance, then SID, baste, quilt the next section??  Do I SID to outline the borders only, or also between each of the squares in border #3?  What about within the printed panel?  There are some rectangle type shapes within the panel that could be outlined.

Here is a url that shows what the panel looks like : http://www.ethelbird.com/mommy-me/mommy-me-panel/   

Thank you in advance for any and all comments/advice!  I'm going to go make binding for the other quilts while I wait for replies.

Have a great day everyone!

Sherry