• advertisement_alt

Donna TKO

Flatlining

By Donna TKO, Monday at 01:36 PM in Tension Troubleshooting

Donna TKO

•  
  • Donna TKO
  • 12 posts

Hello!  I'm a newbie and am seeing the "flatlining" issue.  It's short little bursts of flatlining, and I didn't notice until I took the quilt off the machine.  I'm so thankful for all the information on this site, I plan to use all of it until my problem is fixed.  

The question I have though, is this:  What about this quilt I just finished?  Is it ruined, will the back stitching fall out the first time I wash it? I kind of planned to give it as a gift, I'm sure the person receiving the quilt won't notice, but I'm afraid it will pull apart when it's washed and I'll look like a fool...I am examining it too closely?

Thank you for any and all advice!

IMG_2123.JPG

Donna TKO
Reply to this topic...

•  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  
  •  

Hi Donna. First, you are being too hard on yourself! The quilting is quite acceptable. If  you have used a high quality thread - all will be well as the quilt is used and when it is washed. First, is the quilting in your picture on the top or the back of the quilt? There is an article on this website about railroading on the bobbin side: https://www.apqs.com/what-causes-railroad-tracks/

When there is railroading on top, I check the following: Is there an issue in the thread path - anything in the wrong place or getting caught on something? Or, try loosening the top tension. Or, if you are racing across your quilt, slow down. You can out run your needle and its ability to make good stitches. Or, try loosening the tension on the quilt. It should be loose enough that the machine throat plate area forms a little "mole-hill" as it moves across the quilt.