wool batting

I read in one of the chat rooms about someone having problems with weivel in their wool batting. Is this a real bad problem? The batting sounds like it would be nice to use, but wouldn't want my hard work to go to dust from the weivel. Would appreciate any feed-back I can get on this. Thanks in advance.

Naomi

APQS Millennium

Guest Linda S

Hi Naomi - I use Hobb's Wool quite a bit and have never had any problem with it. As a matter of fact, it's one of my favorite batts. Did they say what kind of wool batt this was a problem in?

Linda

Linda, no they didn't say what brand the wool batt was. And of course I wasn't smart enough to print the letter off for future reference. I am new to this chat stuff so guess I wiull learn as I go along. Have learned a lot from all of you gals so far. Keep up the good work!!

Naomi

APQS Millennium

Guest Linda S

The freezer idea sounds good. I must tell you that when I was out to dinner with the group at Innovations, someone told about her misfortune of having quilted not one, but two stinkbugs :o into a quilt! Not only did they make a mess, they smelled horrible! :o If you keep your batting under your machine, just make sure there are no critters in there as it rolls up into your quilt! I will never forget that, and thank goodness I haven't seen a stinkbug in these parts! :P

Linda

I was quilting along the other day on cream colored sateen and noticed a bug-shaped shadow on the quilt; I could see long legs and wings. Fortunately it was in an area I could roll my quilt back and reach in there to remove it. I guess he'd somehow gotten rolled into place and died there. It was what we call a mosquito-eater and luckily he hadn't oozed onto the quilt :D!

I'm not sure what you are calling a weivel, but weivels don't eat wool they eat cotton....