Getting Business

Several of you have sent e-mails to me privately asking how I got started and got the clients. I'm no expert but here are some thing that worked for me.

1. Do NOT start trying to get business before you are ready. Make sure that the work you are producing is worthy of being scrutinized by potential clients. If you aren't ready and they look at that work, that is what they remember and it will be hard to overcome that initial impression. Do NOT think you can charge less because you are just getting started and your work may not be quite up to par. Practice, practice, practice until you know you are good enough to pass inspection by the clients you wish to attract.

2. No matter where you are heading out to search for business, appear professional. No need to dress up in a business suit but be neat, organized and confident.

3. If you are going to sell yourself to a quilt shop, the shop owners don't have a lot of time to visit with us and they are inundated with longarmers wanting business. I'd have a little brochure or handout specifically created for that shop owner and I'd tell her I'm a longarm quilter, let her know I'd appreciate her business and hand her the brochure. At this point, you will probably know if she is interested are not. Some shop owners have a very tight relationship with the longarmers they are currently using.

4. I'd have samples of my work in the car in the event they want to see it. They may not but if they do, you have it right there on the spot. I'd have a custom, panto and overall meander type to show them. It wouldn't hurt to have pictures of those exact three quilts with the price range on the back so they can remember. Say I have a custom quilt and that is in my .035 - .04/square inch range. If the shop owner sees that quilt with the quilting and then has a picture of the same quilt, they are more likely to remember ME and my quilt.