I got a Lenni!

I have my Lenni! We have set it up and I have been practicing, but since I have been having trouble seeing what I\'m quilting, I think the table might be too low. I am a newbie and have never used a long-arm before. Is there a rule of thumb on the height of the machine? I want to have some idea to tell my DH before he starts raising it! I have been reading all the posts on the Lenni which I have found very helpful.

Hello,

I bought my long arm last year and found out right away it way way to low. I am 5\'9". I tried raising the screw legs ( what a joke) so here is what worked for me. I went and had the local lumber mill cut 2X6 pieces about 50" (be sure to measure your legs). I placed those under the 2 legs on one side and went to the other side and did the same. I have 3 boards under each side of my table and now it is perfect. You want it to hit you under your ribs. I hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Nora

Millennium

Thanks, I had my husband raise it (now I think it might be too high) and I practiced on it and it seemed better. I have just been using plain muslin to practice on, and now I\'m about ready to put one of my really old tops on. How many quilts do you have to do before you feel like you know what you\'re doing? In reading the posts it seems like everyone is so confident right away -

Hi Libbie.. I think many of us seem more confident because we have used our dsm to move the fabric thru or on a frame,platform set up like the original HQ table frame.. or have had some kind of mid to long arm before.. we still had our learning curves.. and I used yards and yards of muslin and scraps of batting .. still do now and then to get my hand back.

You will find things you seem to do not so well, and I\'d concentrate on practicing on them with muslin and scraps.. the ones you do well. keep them up to date by practice when not using them.. suddenly you will feel \'Hey! I\'m doing it!"