Rulers

As a Newbie, I have no idea about all the gadgets and goodie out there for use. I had heard about a ruler called Rene\'s Rays, or Rene\'s Arcs. Has anyone heard of then before? As a newbie what should I be looking for in rulers, gadgets.........

• Replies 87
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Kerry,

Renee\'s rulers are used to create wonderful arcs and swags on the quilt, just to name a few uses. They allow for lots of creativity!

If you are just starting out, my biggest piece of advice is to be a bit conservative when it comes to gadgets and gizmos until you decide what kind of quilting you actually like to do. A straight edge ruler can do many things, from stitching in the ditch to cross hatching (if it is etched appropriately.) It can even be used to stitch curves, though it requires some patience and more importantly, practice.

When deciding on things like templates and rulers, try to think about how many times you see yourself using the product. For example, you can find rulers cut to specific sizes of double wedding ring curves, that help you stitch around the arcs on that quilt design. But, how many double wedding rings will you do? If you\'re doing it for others, it could be several; but if it\'s for yourself, is it worth the $35 for that gadget to be used once and then sit in a drawer?

Look for "testimonials" from other quilters; ask them how often they\'ve used the product in the last year. Ask them if there was only one or two gadgets that they were allowed to keep and they had to give away the rest, what would they find most valuable to them?

Even though you\'ll get lots of different answers, it will help you evaluate trends and then you can decide how to spend your budget each year on gadgets.

Welcome to the world of longarm quilting! Let us know how else we can help!

Hi Kerry,

I have just started to teach a beginner\'s class and bought a few rulers that I thought my students might like: