Investing in stitch regulator

Hi, this is my first time to the site! I recently decided it was time to dive in to the home based business and am looking for advice!! I am hoping to go at this full throttle now that I have decided to go for it! My question is, is the stitch regulator worth the extra $5,000$? I want to get customers and get started as quickly as possible! If all else goes well, will the S/R help eliminate months of quilting practice that may be required if I choose to forgo the expense and invest in a machine without the S/R? I really don't want to have to wait months before I begin to offer quilting services!! My previous quilting experience has just been on my own short arm machine! Comments, Please? Thanks! Jules

Jules: You've asked a loaded question!

I've never had a s/r but have a new machine ordered with a s/r.

If you don't want to spend the money on the s/r and if you have a quilting background and have been doing good work on your own short arm, then you probably will have a short amount of time learning to quilt without the s/r.

I felt fine without the s/r so long as I was doing "normal" client work. For over five years I've been quilting without the s/r and my quilts, as well as those for whom I've quilted, have won ribbons at shows. But, now I want to really do fantastic work . . Karen McTavish, Marilyn Badger and Sherry Rogers type work and I think you reach a point where you can't go any further without the s/r.

So, I guess if you have the cash to spare, I'd recommend going with the s/r. If paying the extra puts you spending more than you want to spend, you'll be fine without it.

How's that for saying nothing??:P