? on Quilting Feathers

shawn

I am new to the world of feathers and have many questions...

Do you draw the stem on the fabric first? Do you draw it on freehand or are there templates to use so it is evenly spaced? OR do you just quilt the stem on freehand? Is the stem the first thing you do or do you all the feathers and stem together?

Do you feather quilting down the stem or up the stem?

Thanks for any input you can provide.

1) Do you draw the stem on the fabric first?

Yes, you can do it this way if you wish...no set rules.

2)Do you draw it on freehand or are there templates to use so it is evenly spaced?

You can do it both ways....some even use plates and can lids for their templates. The Stencil Company and others have stencils to use.

3)OR do you just quilt the stem on freehand?

You can do it either way...whatever works for you. There isn\'t a set rule as to right or wrong, just whatever works for you.

4)Is the stem the first thing you do or do you all the feathers and stem together? Do you feather quilting down the stem or up the stem?

Again its whatever works for you....some do one side and come back down or up the other and then draw the stem. Others draw the stem and then do the feathers either one side and then the next. Some even bounce from one side to the other as they work whichever direction then feel works for them

Shawn,

Feathers can be scary when you get started, and sometimes you wish you had never heard of them. You have asked some great questions, and Bonnie has given great answers. I had a hard time with feathers, they always looked stupid, until I got Sherry Rogers-Harrison\'s book, Formal Feathers 101. Her web site is www.sewfarsewgood.org she teaches you to do those hump-bump or bump-bump or longarm feather or whatever it is they call them.

Oh, and PPP:)