should I reload this backing?

Linda,

I'm no expert by far, but do you have gaps between your pins on the leader? Gaps can cause the back to look like that. Also, are you rolling it too tight? The one end does kind of look off square? Are your leaders stretched? I know when I was mostly doing queen or under size quilts and then went to put on a really big one, the ends of my leaders weren't straight because of all the pulling in the middle. There is a thread on straightening your leaders on this site. Gosh that must be a huge quilt! Hope any of this helps.

:)

Robin

Linda,

I'd try loading it all back onto the take-up roller and then back to the front roller and see if that will take out some of the excess. Deloa taught me to roll onto the take-up roller first and then on the front roller and that really helps gets some of the problems out. If that doesn't solve your problem I would take it off and resquare.

Always try to load the backer with seams running parallel to the rollers. This allows any easing problems on the backer to be controlled as you roll. With such a large backer and seams vertical, the seam allowances build up on the roller as you advance and cause sag on either side of the seams.

If you cannot load this way, treat each section of backer independently as you advance--that is, clamp carefully to disperse the extra fabric along the sides so the backer in that specific section is as flat as possible. This sometimes means using pieces of batting or a clean towel to "flatten" the backer as you stitch. Place the batting in the crevass of the rolled top on the back take-up roller to make the side level. I tuck the batting under the front take-up roller to level the backer--this means if I forget to take out the batting and advance, the batting falls on the floor instead of getting rolled up in the top. Then I am not looking around for the batting piece and have to unroll to retrieve it!