marking quilts

I'm new to this sight,but have been enjoying as well as learning. I notice people talking about templates but nothing about what you use to mark with. It's been very hard for me to mark on someone's quilt. I have been useing a grey charcoal and removeing it with a pet sponge. So far So good. Just wondered what others use.

Hello -

I use chalk - white chalk for darker fabrics, and black light chalk for lighter fabrics. I've tried different markers, sure wish the industry could manufacture a sure-fire marking tool for quilts.

I have also, on occasion, used blue markers for fine detail, when chalk just wouldn't work. I have a handout I give about the blue marker when I've used it. That's not very often, tho.:)

My own personal goals are to get very good at freehanding designs, and away from needing to mark them. Nearly 90% of my business now is from the freehand work, so my customers seem to like the direction I'm headed, too.

You can get the black light and black light powder/chalk from Kingsmen Supply, fyi.

Deb

http://www.thequiltdiva.com

I use blue washaway markers allot and I mean allot! I always pre-test though and suggest that you do also. Many things such as not pre-washing the fabrics or ironing the fabrics with starch or sizing can affect the ability to successfully remove the markers. And keep the sun away from your quilts while the marks are still on the quilt! I have sky lights and although I live in WA. State, the sun does indeed shine and heat sets the marks! I also use a dairy queen blizzard teaspoon full of baking soda in my garden sprayer to mist away the marks as soon as they are not needed. If you have chemicals in your water, use filtered water, but always test for yourself.