NQR - venting families - long

OK so I just need to chat. My mom is having a partial knee replacement next week, she found out for sure today and scheduled for next Friday. So she calls me from the doctors office because she just wants me to know and then tells me the doctor wants to talk to me. She called me back when he was available and he was very nice. He told me he wished I had come with her today. LOL I'll bet he did! She saw him a couple of weeks ago and they were waiting on one more test which came last week. He now feels that the partial knee replacement is the only thing that will relieve her pain. He told me that she basically is bone on bone and that if he goes in to removed the torn meniscus (sp?) that it wouldn't do much for her to relieve her pain. Now I'm not a doctor and I'm not one to want to know tons of details. Tell me the facts and if it sounds reasonable and I'm comfortable with you as a doctor then I'm fine going with your advice as a doctor. He was very reasonable and said that if it were his mother he would want her to get the surgery but that he would be happy for her to have a 2nd opinion. My mother is insistant that it be done next week because you know it has to be done so that she is able to shovel snow! She kills me. I'd rather her slow down a little but I understand the need to just get it over with. I also know that she is scared to death to loose the mobility of her leg. She has diabetes and neuropathy which is a complication of the diabetes. Basically she has no feeling from the ankles up on both legs. She is terrified that if her knees keep getting worse then she'll not be able to walk. I have seen her knees lock up on her to the point that it takes her 5 minutes to get moving. The artheritis in her right knee is pretty bad according to the doctor and he is not the first one to tell her that.