Sign in to follow this  
dnice

New to long arm quilting

I am new to long arm quilting with renting time from a friend who owns a Millennium. I figure that I will rent time until I become comfortable with the machine. I have done 3 quilts. The one thing I am constantly doing wrong is putting the zippers on backwards to the backing and top. Any hints on how to get them right so I do not waste my rental time on repinning the backing and top?

Dnice,

Welcome to our forum! Hope you will share your joys and trials, hits and misses.

As to the leaders, if you own your own zipper leaders, maybe next time you have a quilt on the machine (and you know it's pinned on correctly!), take a permanent marker and write on the zipper fabric: "top - face up" or "backing - face down" or whatever will help you remember which way is right.

Keep us posted as to how things go with you.

314B4A28F5D2B9A393862864B500E102.png
Barbara Mayfield
APQS Sales Representative & Educator
AND Quilt Path owner!!!

"Use what talents you possess; the woods would be very silent if no birds sang except those that sang best." ~Henry van Dyke

APQS Northwest

1315 NW Mall Street, Suite 4

Issaquah, WA  98027

(425) 243-3502

info@apqsnw.com

www.apqsnw.com

Dnice,

I put gross grain ribbon on my zippers to help keep them in like new shape and I pin or staple (preferred) to the ribbon. I have a loop on the left side so I know by looking at them which side of the zipper attaches. I also color coded my ribbons. The take-up and backing zippers have dark blue ribbon and the one for my quilt top has light blue. Saves me lots of time from redoing!

I also have color coded my zippers but customers still get them backwards. I bought zippers that can match up no matter how they're attached (reversable).

Connie
Port Huron, MI   48060
APQS Sales Rep and Educator
Millennium with Intelliquilter (IQ)

"Be a good listener, your ears will never get you in trouble" Frank Tygr

sewsweetgator@aol.com
http://www.yoursite.com