Dog blankie

Here's a Christmas present idea for all the dogs in your life. My dog Jack likes to sleep on the bed. Last year I found a several yard long piece of heavy flannel and folded it in half to place where he sleeps and protect the quilt from his big ol' toenails. A few weeks ago, I started practicing Suzanne Earley's feather meander on paper until I was comfortable enough to try it on a quilt. That's the pattern I used on the donation quilt I posted about a couple of days ago. That turned out so well I decided to quilt Jack's blankie. It looks so much better now than it did as a giant rag with frayed edges, don't you think? He seems pleased with it too, and my quilt is safe!:D

post--13461900818385_thumb.jpg

How sweet those two dogs are. Would love to see Jack curled up on his blankie.

I love Suzanne's feather meandering. I keep hoping to get more quilt tops in that I can use the technique on.

Cathey - In the snow doggie post you mentioned being stationed in P'cola. Was your DH Navy? They've moved the OSC up north last year. My son just went through Marine OSC in Quantico, VA this summer. He graduates this Saturday and will be commissioned the following week. He'll stay in P'cola for a couple years for flight school. My DH retires this coming May from the USMC, 30 yrs.

I love the CL swirls on the dog blankie.

The one piece blankie reminded me of an idea I read about last summer on another longarm site. A woman used 2 full size sheets with batting in between and quilted them together and used them on the kid's twin beds. They were very fast, and she said she just threw them in the washer and dryer every week. This made it so easy for they kids to make their own beds by just using a twin fitted sheet on the mattress and the quilted sheets on the top. I guess she just used a coordinating fabric for the binding. Quick and easy and perfect for a kids room or a camper.