About to purchase - how big should room be?

Hi Everyone. I am new to this. Think I am going to buy a Millenium very soon!! I don't seem to be able to figure out what the absolute minimum size room I need is? I want to put it in my sewing room but am afraid its too small. what do you all recommend? I have a very large finished basement with lots of windows which would be great but have to move the kids TV area. thanks for any advice you can give me

Hi AParker.

This is just my opinion, don't take it the wrong way, but you really won't want to cramp yourself. If you have the large basement, why not move your sewing room down there along with the longarm and move your kids tv room into your sewing room??? :P

You are going to want to near all your sewing supplies anyway.

Patty

AParker,

I think that ll Milleniums are 14' long. You might be able to buy a smaller machine, like a Liberty and Freedom come in 12 & 14 feet; the Discovery model is 10 or 12 on the wood table.

I have a 14' and it is in a 15 x 20 room set on the diagonal just so I can walf around it...on one end only. The other end is pushed into the corner. And that is a tight sqeeze. Plus if you plan to do this professionally, you will need room for thread, batting, customer quilts, etc.

For me, there is no such thing as too much room for a sewing room.

But space is not the only consideration. Electricity, lighting and climate control are also important factors.

There are several folks with webshot web pages showing their studios. You can get lots of hints from how they organize their space. Here's one for example:

http://community.webshots.com/album/396211944tRMxkN

Do a webshot search on "quilt studio" and see what turns up.

You can get the Millennium with a 12 foot table. I have a 12 foot table and only got that size because we move from time to time and I figured I'd have better luck finding a room that would house a 12 foot table rather than the 14 foot table.