newbie needs help -basting quilts-borders??

Hello,

I am a newbie (only have had my Lennie up for about a month). I am reading as much as I can, my head is spinning!!!!! Anyhow, I have been practicing on muslin for a month and need something else. I have a fun doggie fabric I have sewn borders to and am planning on practicing on this (around the doggies and such) to better my skills-then the dogs will have a new blankie!!!! So, now finally to my question…I have just finished reading a long arm quilting book, LONGARM MACHINE QUILTING by Linda Taylor and she suggest that we should stabilize every quilt with basting the quilts to stabilize them, is this the norm, does everyone pretty much baste stitch every quilt ???

My next question is surrounding when to quilt the borders for freehand quilting, if I am quilting a different pattern on the borders then in the body, when do I do the borders? I realize it also depends on the pattern, but for now, I just am doing free hand on borders and just want to keep it basic to develop my skill (no turning the quilt for me right now). The book suggests quilting the borders as I am basting it, starting with the left side border up and across the top and down the right side when I first start. Then quilt the borders as I advance the quilt for the basting, which means once I am done with the basting, my entire border will be quilted, this seem odd to me, to quilt the entire border first then quilt this top, is this normal???

Thanks to anyone that is willing to take some time to help me, I really appreciate it; this is so much fun, but also so frustrating as I have nobody to really mentor me!!!!! Any suggestions on books would be appreciated also, thanks again to everyone!!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

Tammy Isennock - Maryland