Competitors

Gina

Hi all,

I'm very new to this, but so far I'm really pleased with my practice results, so am thinking ahead ... I've started obsessing about how you get your name out there in local guilds, shops, etc. for business, without stepping on already established quilters' toes. How territorial are pro. quilters and why should anybody give me business, when they already have an established quilter in their midst?

Thx for any advice!

Wow, what a question. I have had a terrible time so far. I started this venture in June. I got my first paying customer quilt in October. I came in following behind a quilter who had done things dirt cheap. She was very popular and when she moved a lot of her customers just decided to drive the 100 miles or send their stuff to her. I have been to the local shop, and since they no longer refer people to her they are starting to send me some business. I now have three customers, but I was hoping to have 10 or 12 by this time.

Somebody suggested to me that you go to every guild meeting around you. I don't have any nearby, so that isn't an option.

My suggestion is advertise, take samples to all the local shops, send mailers to churches and community centers, etc. That's what I'm doing now.

I hope this helps a little bit.

Teresa

www.chickenscratchquilting.com

I know what you mean... .I along with all of my friends sent out quilts to a guy that did a great job for a really cheap price. (He has since died). But, my friends I give them a real price break, my husbands aunt pays me $25.00 a quilt , along with my mother in law, other than than I try to charge .01 cent per inch. 80 X 100 = $80.00. When I retire (in Jan 2007), I am going to have someone make me a website to help sell quilts and hopefully get some new business. I want to join some quilts and put my business cards in quilt shops.

Barb Weetzel

Ivy Corner Quilting

Altoona, Iowa 50009