Where do you get most of your business?

I'm going to start my LA business in the next year or two. I first have to purchase my machine!! However, I'm trying to figure out how I will begin. I have been making quilts for about 10 years, and for the last 4 years I have been quilting them with my short-arm grace frame. Anyway, my question to all of you is where does most of your business come from? I'm thinking it's probably repeat customers for the more experienced, but what about the newbees?? Is it worth having a website, and if so, do you mostly get local business or do a lot of people mail the quilts to you? Thank you for your thoughts!!!!

Hi Carla,

Welcome to the world of LA quilting.

Buying the machine is the first huge step. Then you start wondering....What was I thinking?:o:)

It's okay, we have all been there.

When I first started I did everything I could to get my name out there. Joined guilds....which did not work around here. Or, if they do work, you need to join and go for about 5 years before you are "one of them". Anyway, the best way for me, was to take classes at my LQS, and just mention that I am a longarm quilter. That said, I only have one customer that is a repeat from that avenue, but it is a good place to start. If your LQS will let you put your cards in the shop...then that is an excellent way....but the very best for me was to develope a very close relationship with the shop owner. She liked me (out of business now) and she was very good about directing customers my way...even her employees would send customers to me.

Make up shop samples, my favorite is one Dawn Cavanaugh suggested - use quilters sateen. Use matching thread. It makes your samples look very, very professional. Then you can show the shop owners your stuff.