Re-loading quilt for borders?

jakrnsewing

hello I just watched a video by Donita Reeve (looks older) but to do the borders she re-loads the quilt...she stitches the top border and does stitch in the ditch on her sashings then takes the quilt off and reloads it to quilt the now side borders and she also completes her blocks...I am new to longarm quilting but nobody has ever told me you do this makes sense to get a nice design but seems like a lot of work. I also have another question...when using a thicker thread on top I belive it was a 30 wt...with a 40 weight in the bobbin my back had top thread pulled through in spots can I use the smaller thread in the bobbin and just adjust the bobbin tension would that be the standard thing to do because the back of my stitches don't look so good. thanks Jackie

Jackie,

I was reluctant to turn a quilt, too. But one quilt I had to turn twice because I wanted to freehand stars that I could not manage to do sideways. It worked fine and was not a lot of work. I quilted all that I could before doing the turning. I used extra pins to keep the unquilted areas in place while turning. I wouldn't even call the turning quilt tedious...not when it can be done in about 15 minutes!

As to your thread question: I routinely use heavier variegated thread on top and prewound bobbins that have lighter thread (not usually the other way around, like you did). I adjust both tensions till I have a stitch I am happy with. In general you have some extra backing and batting along the sides of your quilt. Use that space, pinning a piece of fabric on top, to play with thread and tension.

Linda/9patch

Jackie,

I too am just learning about border. so I cant help you with that , But as for as threads. I have very good top and bottom tenson with the bottom line thread. I have used the 30wt. 40wt and I think it was 50wt with the bottom line thread ( from Superior) and never had any problems.

Hope this helps.

Yolanda

Hi Jackie,