what tools do you use?

Ritathequilter

Hi again

I meant to ask this question this morning and forgot about it...until Judy posted a picture of her work with her trays.

I'm just a beginner but everytime I get to my machine I find I'm needing different tools.

Can you all share your favorite tools that you keep right hand while quilting?

I found that besides my scissors, I've needed needlenose pliers, tweezers, a blade screwdriver, canned air, oil, alcohol (haven't had to drink that ...yet..LOL)

I wish that APQS would have included a tool kit with the basics we need to maintain the unit. I did suggest it to them and they said they are working on it for future sales.

Rita

Hi Rita,

I would add a mechanics magnetic bowl. You can get them at hardware stores or an auto store. They hold your pins and since they are magnetic they will stick to your rails. If you can find a Dentist pick they are convenient for getting thread out of your wheels. I would add a convenient trash can that I place at the sides of the quilt for easy thread throw away. Not glamorous things but nevertheless they will make life easier.

DeLoa Jones

APQS rep Michigan

269-639-2123

I have a clean(unused) coffee filter with double sided tape on top of my machine for putting thread clippings. I have hot glued a cardboard tube with the bottom taped off.Put this on one side of my machine not in the way of my thumb wheel or anything where it would be in the way. I put assortment of things of washable marking pens, twezzers, scissors,seam ripper, squeezers, small screw driver for changing out needles. I think quilters get enough walking, so to have these items close at hand we can save a few steps.:P

One thing I'd like to add is that I throw a small piece of batting over my shoulder and quickly stick the threads I snip to it. Saves looking for the garbage can or cleaning up the floor later.

I also use this when I'm sitting at my regular sewing machine quilting.