Veterans who happen to be quilters

I know it isnt exactly the same but being a Navy wife of 20 years and then two sons in the service one navy for 8 years and the other army now 9 years and special forces for the last 4 years, it seems like I am a vet. been doing the military lifestyle since i got married at 18. does that qualify?

Well, lets see, Dad was in the Cavalry during WW1, and in the Philippines during the invasion.. Two brothers were in the Army during WW2 and one was wounded.

Then one brother in the Korean war. Roland, Himself went in and was in on the bay of Pigs, the Falkland Island invasion, several other small skirmishes, flew cargo and personnel into Viet Nam and Thailand, then was stationed in Thailand for several months, flying reconnaisancem, then returned state side, and flew wounded, whole bodied, immigrants, etc home and finally retired on New Years Eve 1978.

Meanwhile, i spent 19 years of his 22 with him caring for 4 kids (6 years from oldest to youngest) one handicapped, drove one 60 odd miles to and from school each day, etc... so I considermyself in the "service"

I love our GI's, past and present, make a point to tell anyone I see that is in uniform that I appreciate them and the work they are doing, and make as many quilts of Valor as I can as well quilt them for other ladies who send their tops and backing to me.

I have so much respect for them, and YOU who are still in, or will be going in. Oh

my gosh, almost forgot to say our daughter was in the AF for 9 years as a Diesel Mechanic, and our Son in Law was on the Enterprise for 6 years... God Bless them, too.

RitaR

Originally posted by RitaR

Roland, Himself flew cargo and personnel into Viet Nam and Thailand, then was stationed in Thailand for several months,

RitaR

My brother too....maybe they were in together! Wouldn't that be a small world...Let's see Ching Chang Chong Air Force Base in Tiawan, must have been somewhere between 1967 and 1970.

Hi Sue,