Interested

Good morning!

I am just beginning to research the idea of starting a longarm quilting business. My position at school is being cut in half and I am casting around for something to do that I will love. (trying to see this as an opportunity rather than a setback) I have been quilting (machine piecing/hand quilting) for about 15 years. I love my quilting time. I am wondering if I would love doing longarm as a small business out of my home. I have toyed with the idea of opening a quilt shop, but longarm quilting out of my home seems like it might be a much less intimidating step for me. I am gathering info from several long arm sites. I am also getting info from a small business org. called GROW (Grand Rapids Opportunities for Women) that educates in the intricacies of starting your own business. I will continue to peruse the forums and really appreciate the info that is found here.

Thank you all so much!

TWatson

Welcome to the group! I think all of us here love what we do and there are many factors involved in determining whether this will work for you and be all that you hope it will be. There's great info in the forums here so if you read through there and have specific questions, ask and someone will try to answer.

For starters, I would consider:

1. Location - Do you have a spot in your home that you can give up for the longarm; if you will have customers coming to your home, are there subdivision restrictions that will prevent a home based business. I'm sure your GROW group will address zoning/business license issues.

2. Physical limitations - If you are planning to quilt a few quilts to makeup for lost income, you may not be quilting 15 hours a day but if you plan to do that, it's hard on my old body.