My Challenge

Stitches

A lady approached me at work wanting me to quilt a flannel quilt for her nephews graduation. I explained that I am very new to quilting! In fact, I'm not sure that I am ready to quilt for others, but she is OK with this. I will do a simple meander. What batting would you suggest for a flannel top and backing? I have no experience with flannel, so any suggestions are welcome. ;)

TIA,

Donna

HI Donna,

The pieced top of flannel can be a little stretched, but other than that it quilts up really nicely. I really like the stitching on flannel. Some seam intersections may be a little thick, but it shouldn't be a problem at all.

I might use like a hobbs 80/20, since it is a little lighter with a front and back of flannel.

If they want it really warm then go with a 100% cotton, like hobbs 100% cotton with scrim, or warm and natural

HTH:)

I was really scared to try my first all flannel quilt. I wanted it a little heavier so it would be cuddly and warm. I used a thicker poly cotton. There were no problems with the flannel. I just did a simple pantograph.:) I thought that it might be hard. In fact it was only my 3rd quilt I have done on my machine. Just to let you know how new I am I just took off my 5th quilt. So I'm a really new. Good Luck

I used Warm and Natural on the flannel quilt. If the flannels are a good quality, you should have no problem quilting. The last flannel quilt I did was a joy to quilt, the flannels were quite soft and it felt like quilting thru butter.

I have both done freehand and edge to edge on flannel quilts and have had no problems. Just make sure that all three layers are smooth as the flannel wants to stick to the batting and it could be easy to have a wrinkle in the batting if you don't check it each turn of the quilt.

Char