charge for teaching beginner quilt piecing classes

Do any of you teach beginner quilt piecing classes? If so, how much do you charge? My niece and her friends wanted me to teach a class and we started it last July '08 and just now they are finishing them up. We had several classes over the past year and I charged a flat fee in the beginning. They chose not to do homework between classes and only worked on their projects here in my studio with my instruction. They purchased mats and cutters from me and with the exception of one student I also quilted their quilts for them charging my customary fee for that service. They want to make another quilt and continue meeting here and have me teach them again. Obviously I did not make any money for teaching with all the hours it took but I do have a few new customers. Since I am new at this end of the business, they had some suggestions for me for the next go-around.

They also have friends who already quilt and would like to come on a "drop in" basis. The suggestion was this:

For those who want instruction, they would pay $30 for the first class and $10 for each additional class. The "drop ins"

would pay $10 too with no instruction. This way the students may be encouraged to do homework but if they choose not to (like last year) I would make more money. That way it's pretty much up to the student to determine how much they want to pay for the class.

I'm wondering if I'm opening a can of worms with this.

Do you see projected pit falls with this idea?

I need ideas/suggestions if you have any. Thanks!

I charge $20 per student no matter who they are. 10 students is my limit per class. Classes usually last 4 hours. They learn how to do it right. And, I always tell them what they will get - up front. Then I always throw in a new technique or something and they say they look forward to what they are going to get for "free."