need advice about Compu quilter

Giuliana

Thinking about buying a longarm and thinking about Compu quilter. . .appreciate thoughts from you that are experienced with using CQ. I'm thinking about doing a part time business for the next ten years and then it would be more of a main business when I retire. How difficult is it to use? How difficult to digitize? What kind of learning curve? What is the main limitation? Does it really save time? Thanks much.

Hello Giuliana,

I'm no expert but I am a newer owner of the Milli and in March I had my CQ installed.

With or without CQ my APQS machine is a STAR. I love it. The stitch regulator helps with the learning curve. I am using Manual more and more as I learn.

I work full-time also and have no problem getting quilts to do. In fact I am slowing down so I can do some of my own. At the rate I am going my earnings are proving that my machine will pay for itself in time. Keep in mind I WORK ALL THE TIME. Not everyone wants to quilt after a 12 hr shift job but I believe my hard work will pay off with in my First Blue Ribbon some day. My selection of thread and tools are better from all the early spending and I know have a good selection and my spending to get started has toned down a great deal.

The CQ is awesome. I still quilt alot without it as I love freehand. My customers are loving the CQ designs and the perfection that it offers when doing difficult type patterns. They do not pay for the perfection. The CQ does save me alot of time especially with the Edge to Edge patterns. I am doing a custom and the CQ is giving me perfect feathers and I get to freehand around them and have fun if more is what I want to do. If not they still look wonderful. I digitized my first allthough not great design just yesterday. That was so excited to achieve I can't tell you. I may have my own designs someday. WOW what a good idea. lolol