Facebook or Blogs? Who uses these and what do you like about them?

I've just got started with Facebook and really don't understand much about it yet! I expect it is quite addictive.

I do a weekly blog but have had to upgrade it to the pro one as it had a lot of traffic... I don't know if quilters read it or spammers! I am not allowed to exceed 5K bandwidth and I'm almost there so it gets taken off until the following month. I have had messages asking where is it? if it's not available. It is not all sewing - lots on my mad other lives.

I have been blogging for a few years and I love. My blog posts aren't always quilt related . . there were months it seemed where all I discussed was the chicken coop (or lack thereof!).

I don't show quilts that I'm doing for others on either the blog or facebook.

Many wonderful friendships have developed due to the blog and most of my teaching engagements come from someone who reads my blog recommending me to their guild program chair.

My suggestion would be to think about what you hope to accomplish before you start blogging or using facebook, then think about how you'll get to that goal by using the blog or facebook.

The good thing is that you can do it with no upfront cost, try it for a while and see if you like it before spreading the word that you've started the blog or facebook.