Needle breaking on the Seams !!!

happyquilter

I have just started using a pantograph design and have been breaking needles when I approach a center seam as in a four patch. I am a newbie although I have owned my Liberty for a while. For a long time I have just free motioned and stippled. Free motioning I have usually avoided the heavier seams. I am using a 4.0 singer needle with King tut on top (40 wt) and prewound superior bobbin. It seems to happen even if I am going slow. Can anyone tell me how to stop this? I have made a small twin and have broken 6 needles. Also can anyone advise me on needles? Should I go thicker or thinner or change brands?? Any advice would be helpful... Thanks.:(

Oh that is very odd. Are you seams thicker than normal? I have stitched over some really heavy seams and I've not had this problem. I use 3.5 - 4.0 almost all the time. I was going to suggest you had a dull needle but if you've broken that many I can't believe that. My guess would be that it is the needle flex and the movement of the head but that is only a guess. Hopefully Dawn will hop on this one. I'll bet she'll come up with a suggestion. Oh one thought is your hopping foot catching on the seam at all? If so I'd start by raising it a little.

I have another question...by chance, is this quilt assembled with a serger?

If so, the seams get too bulky with all that thread and can cause needles to break.

I do NOT quilt any quilt that has been assembled with a serger.

A few months ago, I had to turn down a lady who had 11 quilt tops, as they all were assembled by a serger.

Dont know if the rest of you have this issue or not, but I avoid it like the plague.