george - stitch regulator?

Hi! I'm new to this wonderful world of quilting and have lots of questions!! I see that some of the long arm machines have stitch regulators. Does George have this as well? I'm trying to learn free motion quilting and it's very tricky to get the movement down.

I was hoping that George could solve my problem!

Hi livismom,

At this time George is non stitch regulated. It does come standard with a automatic needle positioner that will stop needle up or down and a one stitch button to pull the bobbin thread up and tack your stitches and a foot pedal to run the machine. Let us know if you have any other questions.

Take care,

Hi,

George DOES have a speed regulator, however, which goes a long way towards even stitch lengths. It goes from 1 to 10 and after setting it, it's sort of like a cruise control. You push the pedal all the way down and it only goes to a certain speed---slower, of course, but not faster. This is great when you are using threads that like to be sewn slower, such as metallics and monofilaments. It's sometimes hard to keep an even, slow, speed.

I understand that the guys are working on a stitch regulator, and when it is available, will be retro-fittable. Not everybody wants one, so no need to up the price of the machine for a feature that only some want.

• 3 months later...

Hi Mark and all,

I have a few questions about George.

But before I do, I've seen the Tracy's Tables and have got to say I recognized George's table right off. Those tables are just lovely, sturdy, well built, square, smooth and pretty.

:)

1) George is listed as a minimum of 200 SPM.. is this really as slow as it will go? Sometime I want to go VERY VERY SLOW... 100 or even 75 stitches per minute.

2) Is there a 'speed limiter' this would function to set the Maximum top speed... at X. IF SO, can X equal 300 or 400 or 500 SPM?