My United Way Raffle Quilt Project for 2009

I need to celebrate and share some wonderful news with my quilty friends here on the APQS chat.

Long story short, each year, I organize some type of quilting project to raise money during my employer's local United Way campaign. This year, I decided to try something completely new that I've never done before -- sell raffle tickets for the quilt rather than do the silent auction process (raffles make more $$$) So... this summer, me and my coworkers (and several of my quilt guild members) made blocks of Alaskan animals or wildlife scenes and I put it together and quilted it. Not to brag, but the photos don't do it justice - it really is spectacular in person.

Oh, and many of the blocks on this quilt were made by non quilters, and this was their first try at raw edge applique.

So, I discovered I was able to use our local United Way's gaming permit and I purchased the perforated packaged sheets of card stock to print the raffle tickets, I designed the tickets, and printed out a bunch to sell. I organized it so we could get the quilt traveling around to several of my work's main locations (Fairbanks, Anchorage, Valdez) and we sold these tickets for $5.00 each or a book of six for $20.00. Most everyone bought the books of $20.00.

From the span of seven short weeks, from start to finish of raffle ticket sales, we sold $4,555.00 in raffle tickets. 100% of that money went to our local United Way. And, last Thursday, the UW reps came over to my office and they pulled the winning ticket. The winner of the quilt is thrilled to have received it.